top of page

Tandem Paragliding...

Author - Ekta Sharma

parapente-et-roc-d-enfer-3528.jpg

How brave and adventurous do you have to be to go tandem paragliding?

Well it's not that difficult as you think. I consider myself an adventurous person. I just love travelling & want to try everything is life but I'm definitely not a junkie.One day I just jumping off the mountain peak, it was fun, it was such an amazing experience.....& its a must try adventure sports.

I was so excited about it since few days, I literally had butterflies in my stomach when I woke up in the morning. I hired a car that took me to the mountain peak and I had to trek for half an hour to reach to the point. Well it was a bright sunny day but windy as well. That’s was a perfect weather for my gliding experience. I gazed around the mountain; it was such an amazing morning view.

13.jpg
14.jpg
19.jpg
17.jpg
16.jpg

I climbed a rock to feel the depth ufffff bushes all around and the steep slope. My heart was beating like crazy, my hands were frozen. I was feeling so thrilled & that’s the reason I went there to try this sports out.

After a couple of hours spent relaxing and admiring the scenery, the instructors secured a helmet on my head and quickly buckled me into a harness affixed to the glider. I was ready with my gear and helmet. I got my set of instructions to follow while flying. Other set of people has come there before me so they went first. I got the glide tied to my back and was ready to go next. One of the girls of the other group are going before me, I thought I should observe her closely to check-out the technique of flying as she told me she had tried gliding earlier as well. She ran briskly for a while and then increased her speed and jumped off. Ooops the glide did not open and she slipped off the mountain somewhere in the bushes anyways she was rescued in a while but with a bit of difficulty.

21.jpeg
r326716_1465616.jpg

OMG had to go next……

Like many people, I guess, there have been numerous occasions where I've gazed longingly up at the sky and wondered what it would be like to fly like a bird but soar effortlessly like an eagle. Hence, paragliding seemed like the perfect alternate to experience it.

The prospect of getting out of the noisy city and staying at a gentle guesthouse surrounded by nature made it even more appealing. The place was so full of soothing energy all around. Yet, there was also a tangible buzz in the air as guests talked about their paragliding exploits. I was so so so excited...and just a tiny bit nervous.

So finally my Pilot came down to me who would be doing the difficult work of controlling the glider. He buckled himself in a harness behind me. So we started walking briskly for a while & then started running. As we ran towards the edge of the hill, we jumped off into the air. There was an open sky above me & the land several meters below. When I jumped its very thrilling because I am in the air and glide was still opening up. Those 5 seconds I must say takes off your breath. Finally the glider caught the wind and we were effortlessly lifted off the ground and into the air. And finally I was flying very high over the mountains , around the mountain like a bird. I also use to stare at the birds and think that they are so lucky, they can fly. Its seems so refreshing and relaxing so finally I got to fly.

DSCN2212.JPG
paragliding-tandem.jpg
DSCN2210.JPG
DSCN2164.JPG
DSCN2162.JPG

We rose higher and higher above the hill in the powerful current of the wind, just like an eagle. And, we couldn't determine exactly where we went. Maybe I'm more adventurous than I think, as I encouraged my pilot do a couple of acrobatic stunts while we were up in the air. Yes, I trusted him and his abilities that much! A "wingover" was first, which produced an extreme rocking motion. We swung widely from side to side in huge arcs, like a hair-raising amusement park ride. After I'd recovered, the next stunt sent us spiraling downwards in a disorientating dive. I could see the earth spinning furiously below me and hoped I wouldn't be sick. Apparently, I could be heard squealing from the ground but it was wild crazy fun! I didn't feel unsafe at all.

No paragliding experience is necessary for tandem paragliding, although you need to be reasonably fit to hike up the hill. It was a wonderful feeling. I just loved it. It was a wonderful experience. Readers go ahead for it....you just love it....:)


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page